Hidden Beauty

There used to be a time when I thought writing poetry was all about rhyming the words,. I’d spend countless hours arguing with anyone who told me that a paragraph without rhyming words was a poem, I just couldn’t grasp how a poem could not rhyme?! Until, one day I wrote a poem without thinking; without hunting for words that rhymed with today and children. I just let the thoughts flow, penned down the emotions as the came in waves in my head. After I finished, I realized it was perhaps the most beautiful poem I had written – No, it didn’t have a rhyme scheme, but it did rhyme quite surprisingly.

I wrote the poem after reading Khaled Hosseini’s “A Thousand Splendid Suns”, the book, I must say is brilliantly written. It touched something in me and made me write the below poem.

There’s a sad beauty

In war,

that goes unnoticed,

The barbed wire fence,

The solemn faces of children,

The emotions louder than words,

The hope in the eyes,

The struggle to fight,

The conviction to stay alive,

The united soldiers,

The persistence to live,

The pride of a martyr,

The battered homes,

The mysterious smog,

The confused wails,

The faith in God,

Indeed there is a sad hidden beauty,

If one looks deep within

With the eyes of the soul.

-RiRi

What is your view on poems? Do you believe that they need to rhyme?

Leave a Reply

