Money: the oxygen of life

In Harry potter, Dumbledore once said: “As much money and life as you could want! The two things most human beings would choose above all – the trouble is, humans do have a knack of choosing precisely those things that are worst for them.”

 This statement is the perfect way to describe what humans are all about. No matter how good, or pious or religious we are, there will always be one thing that we can never let go of; money.  

Most of us claim to believe in God and death and paradise and hell, and we even believe that we can’t take the money that we have in this life to the next, yet, we try to hoard as much money as we can. There are also people  that show just how foolish they are by creating lavish graves for themselves complete with a music system and chandeliers (seriously?!).

Most of us also hold true to the belief that everything is in God’s hand and that we will receive our due because God is just in all aspects. Yet when we lose money, we go on to behave like it’s the end if the world. Where is our belief in God then? 

There may be times when we lend money to people or give charity, but in time we start feeling arrogant and proud of ourselves and many a times we make the person we gave money to, feel humiliated by reminding them of our favor. These are the times that we forget that the money we have is also from God and it was God who wanted you to give the money to that person. We forget that nothing lasts forever, and in this world, where money slips from our hands like water, we spend our whole lives chasing it not caring about who we hurt.

From the old to the middle aged to the young, no one is safe from the traps of money. Yes, there are a selected few that actually don’t care about money but I have yet to meet one of them and when I do, I want to know exactly what they do in order to save themselves and that’s exactly what I will do. Till then, I ask God to save us from the evil of money.  

 

5 thoughts on “Money: the oxygen of life

  1. Well said. I have to be very careful… I admit that I already worry about retirement even though I have a good…40+ years. I want to make good choices so I know that I’ll be taken care of in my old age and not be a burden to my family. But as someone who’s been cast aside because of money, argh. The stuff is awful. It’s a tool, nothing more, and you are right in saying that it isn’t even ours. It’s a never ending battle, but I believe it’s one that is our duty to fight, lest we become consumed by empty material things that will do nothing more than hurt.

    And I know this is off topic but I love your new layout. Great post!

    • I know what you mean. My mom constantly talks about retirement and who will take care of her and my dad even after multiple reassurances from me and my siblings, but I guess that is a natural part of growing up. But yes, money is supposed to be used by us instead of it using us, and that’s where I feel most people get confused. I completely agree that it is duty to fight, but many realize it only after the battle has been lost.

      Thank you 🙂 I think I’ll stick with this layout for a while 😀

  2. Simply desire to say your article is as surprising. The clarity on your
    post is simply nice and i could assume you are knowledgeable in
    this subject. Well together with your permission allow me to grasp your feed to keep up to date with imminent post.
    Thank you one million and please carry on the gratifying
    work.

Leave a Reply

