Clinging to Memories

There’s only so many tears

that can fall from my eyes

even they’ve run out

since the last time we said goodbye.

I don’t know where we stand

not knowing is making me mad

your name is the only thing I hear

never knew love could make me so sad.

I’m overwhelmed with darkness

without you, my world is bleak.

Don’t you remember?

Those late night calls and meetings?

Those hugs and kisses?

Those sweet whisperings?

To you did they mean nothing?

I still feel your lips on mine

your breath on my neck.

I wear your clothes

still clinging to memories

not ready to let go.

 

8 thoughts on “Clinging to Memories

  1. “I still feel your lips on mine, your breath on my neck. I wear your clothes, still clinging to memories
    not ready to let go.” I know exactly how you feel…I actually thought I was the only one who wore his clothes post break-up.

  2. This is beautiful, and something I relate to a lot. I had a shirt of Luis’ that I gave back, but I regretted it almost immediately. I think it’s a good thing to have some possessions of someone you love, even in times of a breakup. It provides a little extra comfort until you are strong enough to put the clothes away and move on. If this is recent, I hope you are comforted and able to move on soon. If it was just a poem, it’s awesome and I love the vivid imagery. Great post!

    • I know how you feel…I wanted to give it back but just couldn’t…maybe one say when I’m completely over him I’ll have the strength to give it back, but I’m not ready yet. Thank you ….I hope I can move on soon too….

Leave a Reply

